5134 Baltimore
Kansas City, Missouri 64112
Phone: 816-531-6200
Fax : 816-531-8045
5141 Main Street
Kansas City, Missouri 64112
Phone: 816-753-7422
Fax : 816-753-5505
Visitation - a Catholic Community



The seven sacraments - Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony - are fundamental to our faith as Catholics.

"The purpose of the sacraments is to sanctify men and women, to build the body of Christ, and finally, to give worship to God. Because they are signs they also instruct. They not only presuppose faith, but by words and objects they also nourish, strengthen and express faith." CCC #1123

For specific information about receiving the sacraments at Visitation Church, please visit the links at left.


The Sacrament of Baptism marks the beginning of our journey of faith. It is the first of the three sacraments of initiation, pardoning our sins, incorporating us into Christ and forming us into God's people.


Confirmation makes us more completely the image of the Lord and fills us with the Holy Spirit, so that we may bear witness to him before all the world and work to bring the Body of Christ to its fullness.


The ritual, sacramental action of thanksgiving to God is the principal liturgical celebration of and communion in the paschal mystery of Christ. The Eucharist is the "source and summit" of Catholic faith. Coming together at the table we receive the Body and Blood of Christ so that we may find the graced nourishment for daily life and have eternal life.


The Sacrament of Reconciliation offers every baptized Catholic the opportunity to take stock of our lives, admit our sins, and through God's unconditional forgiveness and mercy become reconciled to the Church and our neighbor.


The Sacrament of Marriage is a covenant or partnership of life between a man and woman, whose purpose is the well-being of the spouse and the procreation and nurturing of children.

Anointing of the Sick

The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick is administered by a priest to anyone whose health is seriously impaired by illness or old age through prayer and the anointing of the body with the oil of the sick. The sacrament is also offered to anyone who is facing surgery. The grace of the sacrament offers a special healing and comfort to the Christian who is suffering the infirmities of age or serious illness, and the forgiveness of the person's sins.

Holy Orders

The rite of the Sacrament of Holy Orders by which the bishop, through the imposition of hands and the prayer of consecration, confers the order of bishop, priest or deacon to exercise a sacred power in serving the Church and the people of God.